The Next LEGO Game Needs to Put an Emphasis on Levels

LEGO Star Wars The Skywalker Saga is a great next step for the LEGO games, but it appears to have left the fun LEGO levels behind.

Traveller’s Tales has finally launched LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga after so many delays and years of building interest. The ambitious LEGO game leads players on a galaxy-spanning trip throughout the nine major Star Wars films, providing the ideal Star Wars experience for aficionados of the brand.

Traveler’s Tales did not merely give an upgraded version of LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga, but it went the additional mile and fully reimagined what it means to be a LEGO game.


LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga shook up the whole LEGO concept and serves as the largest innovation the franchise has seen in years. Traveler’s Tales utilized an entirely new engine for the LEGO games, the fighting mechanics were made more in-depth, the hub world was expanded to include multiple large-scale explorable planets.

The camera was changed to a third-person viewpoint, and the character roster was expanded to over 380 different playable characters. While this is all remarkable and a significant stride for the LEGO games, all of this innovation leaves behind one of the most crucial components of a LEGO game, and that is its levels Read More.

How LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga’s Levels Work


LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga has the hard chore of converting all nine major Star Wars movies into one game. Previous LEGO Star Wars titles had only adapted six of the movies, but Disney’s sequel trilogy introduced three more than required the LEGO treatment.

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga achieves this goal by delivering the tale of each movie in the open-world center and across five levels each, which is down from the six levels each film got in LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga.

While The Skywalker Saga only contains one fewer level per movie compared to its predecessors, the method Traveller’s Tales opted to deliver the tale in these levels leaves much to be desired.



In earlier LEGO Star Wars releases, the focus of the game was on the narrative levels. The hub worlds were barebones versions of Dexter’s Diner or Mos Eisley’s Cantina that only serve as a spot to pick tasks, buy characters, and view mini kits. In recent years, Traveller’s Tales has started developing bigger open-world hub regions to explore.

Then with LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, it made the hub-worlds much bigger. This offered Traveller’s Tales a chance to not only tell the Star Wars tale in the levels but also to tell it using the gorgeous hub-worlds that are built.

While it is amazing that these recreations of Star Wars worlds be used to their greatest extent, the levels ultimately wind up feeling dull. Before, many of the important narrative beats were given in the levels themselves.

Players had to fight their way out of the droid control ship in The Phantom Menace, battle in the skies above Coruscant in Revenge of the Sith, and traverse the deserts of Tatooine in A New Hope. Now, some of the main story moments have been shifted to the open-world areas instead of the levels, while certain elements like the fight over Coruscant have been wiped away altogether.

This makes the movies seem rapid and the levels feel short. On top of that, players cannot repeat specific storyline moments unless they start up a brand new game owing to the fact that certain story is only in the open world.

The Next LEGO Game Needs to Focus on Levels


There are many things that pull people to LEGO games, from the playable characters to the fun-filled LEGO comedy. One of the most notable features of LEGO games is the thrilling stages that players have to go through to continue through the tale.

Many gamers have excellent memories of fighting their way through Tantive IV, using gunships to knock out Droid control ships, or fighting over Coruscant. While LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga does include some enjoyable levels, the bulk of them pale in comparison to games that came before.



Players want to be able to go through plot beats and repeat them over and over again until they are bored or have all the collectibles. Locking some plot moments behind the open-world parts eliminates a critical part of the LEGO games for many people.

On top of that, the levels in LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga merely seem shorter than those from past LEGO games. While the game that Traveller’s Tales built feels and looks really good, shifting the emphasis away from the levels means that it loses something that made the previous LEGO games sparkle.


Traveler’s Tales shows no signs of slowing as it gets set to produce the next LEGO game using the technology it created for LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga. As it looks to what comes next, it should definitely consider placing the focus less on the open world and more on the replayable levels. Doing so might help Traveller’s Tales make the ideal LEGO game. Click Here

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.